It’s my party, and I’ll cook if I want to

Sorry that I’ve been dark for a week. A lot happened in real life, like we’re buying a house and my husbands grandmother passed away. Of and my husband turned 40, so we had to throw him a party. Well, because he was turning 40, and a total geek, I spent weeks putting together a Cthulhu birthday party ( you know because he’s 40 so he’s now an elder god…it made a lot of sense to me.) And it was a partially mixed gluten party. We had a baked potato bar and cupcakes. One of our friends makes amazing cupcakes, so she baked gluten filled cupcakes and I made some gluten free ones. The potato bar is inherently gluten free, but the cupcakes are full of gluten.

Because we really like having people over and feeding them, my husband wanted to be a party of cooking for his party. I don’t know if you’ve ever had someone try and throw you a gluten free party, but anytime you have to start explaining cross contamination to people, you may have already lost the battle. But there’s one more things that happens when someone else wants to cook for your party, you lose control. In the instance of his husband’s party, there was a lot of control. We kept the gluten cup cakes on a cupcake stand. I kept the gluten free ones on the other side of the kitchen. They showed up after I had eaten and made my potato, so there was no problems there. Literally, it was like my husband having glutened bread for his po’ boys, you just have to be careful where you put your hands and clean the counters.

The pitfall is someone else cooking for you in their kitchen. It can be done. It really can, but you have to put your faith in your friends and give them some really specific guidelines. For people who have friends in the Celitariat, or are part of the Celitartiat themselves, you feel like you can trust them. But control is out of your hands, and I know it’s not just me when I say that is scary. You can’t clean the kitchen for the other person, or make sure their dishes are 100% clean, or read the ingredients  of everything that goes into the meal…well to me that’s a little crazy making. I’m a really sensitive celiac but I don’t have as sever of reactions as most people, so the smallest amount of gluten can make me sick, but I won’t end up in the hosptial with bloody bowels. Still, I don’t really look forward to 3 days of stomach pains, body aches, and sitting on the toilet.

I know that my friends want to share their foods with us, and I’ve worked out a good way to get other people ready to cook for us. It’s just a couple of simple rules for cooking for me.

How to cook for a Celitariat:

  1. Clean your kitchen: you don’t need to wash everything, but make sure you wipe down the food prep surfaces or anything that might touch the cooking tools. Use a clean towel, sponge, or paper towels.
  2. Wash everything that you will be cooking with. This can and should include your oven. Just running an oven or barbecue grill through an oven clean function (as long as the oven gets hotter than 500 degrees). Cutting boards should be run through the washing machine, along with anything you use to clean your knives or pots and pans (if you don’t run them through a dishwasher).
  3. Put away the flour. Like in a sealed container. Put that container away, and keep it away from at least 24 hours before you cook for me. This makes sure that everything can get clean and there’s no possible way for there to be any particulate in the air.
  4. Google if your friend. Even if the package doesn’t say it’s gluten free (and you can point them to this post for what that means) there is a lot of gluten free food out there that just don’t put it on the box. Best way to find out, well that would be the job of Google. You can google just about everything with the words “gluten free” and you can find out if it is or isn’t.
  5. If you have a question, ask me. I’m more than happy to put a little bit of work into making sure I don’t get sick. Trust me, I’m really invested in it. Plus, I have that best kind of experience, life experience, to tell you what I react to and don’t. Since every celiac has different levels of sensitivity, you can’t really judge one person’s reaction by another. So just ask. Really, just ask.
  6. Buy fresh containers of anything that will be shared. Mayo, sour cream, butter just get a new one. Basically, if you have already dipped silverwear in, get a fresh one. We do it in our own houses, please do this in yours to

I know that sounds like there’s not that much there, but that’s pretty much all you need your friend to do. It’s time consuming enough, and there’s a bit of monetary outlay, so I always feel that it’s probably better for me to cook for my friends. I just feel bad asking anyone to have to do all of that, when I’m already doing all of it. Still, if they really, honestly, want to cook, have then follow those 6 rules. I mean, you can’t cook for yourself forever right? And until one of those celiac pills comes out, we have to live and die by our cross-contamination rules.

Leave a Reply

